Enjoying Scifi Blog

February 22, 2011

Visions of the Future

Filed under: Odds, Stories, Writing — Stephen L. Thompson @ 10:00 pm

If you enjoy scifi art, you’ll probably enjoy this five part series on scifi art from the Second Golden Age.  Here’s Part 1:

 

Another cool aspect of these videos is inspiration if you’re a writer.  Several years ago, I went to a used book store and found a book of scifi paintings.  I had the idea of writing a story for each painting, but the book cost $50 I didn’t have.  After a couple of weeks of thinking about it, I told myself I had to buy it regardless.  But when I went back, someone had beaten me to it.  I only remember one of the paintings – involving astronauts on the moon – but after six or seven years, I still haven’t thought of a story for it.

A couple of years ago I was thinking of this and decided I should write a story about a writer who was inspired to write a story based on a painting.  But that seemed rather boring, so I spiced it up a bit.  Here is “Amongst Us.”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

